10GHz update + first “DX”

The annoying difference of frequency between TX and RX has been solved by stabilizing the supply of the local oscillator with a DC-DC converter. There was a small voltage drop due to the high current of the TX-RX coaxial relays (600 mA…)

First test with Silvano I0LVA, QRB about 50 km easily worked in SSB also with minimum power (50mW).

The surprise was during the Vecchiacchi Memorial Day of 4 December, Cesare I6XCK in JN63QO QRB  of about 215 km with the mountains in the middle, worked in CW directly, no RS. I received I6XCK with a clear 529 for the whole duration of the sked, but I had to wait a bit and repeat the report/number/locator several times to complete the QSO probably due to about 10dB of difference of RF pwr. I think a PA is needed…

jn61fs_jn63qo

I’m always free for any reasonable sked on 3cm.

Leave a Reply

